There is a difference between a bacterial infection and a yeast infection. Even though a yeast infection is caused by the candida bacteria it is usually not referred to as a bacterial infection, don’t ask me why?

Now bacterial vaginosis is considered a bacterial infection of the vagina and it is also caused by, naturally, a harmful bacteria.

I guess the difference in the two would be that candida can be naturally present in your body and your natural flora could keep it in check. However with the bacteria that usually causes bacterial vaginosis, Gardnerella, is not normally found in the body. So hence the call this type of infection a bacterial infection.

The only reason I’m pointing this out is I want you to make sure when you are saying you have a bacterial yeast infection that you have a candida infection and not bacterial vaginosis.

It is very common to get these two infections mixed up and treat them wrong. This happens all the time and it just makes you suffer longer than you need to. With a little help from me you can easily tell the difference between the two.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi, My name is Angela. I'm married and have two wonderful little girls.

    Archives

    December 2010

    Categories

    All
    Health
    Women\'s Issues
    Womens\'s Issues

    RSS Feed